Pops Oldtimer

In Detroit the other day for an early morning photo shoot, the subject being the city’s early movie palaces, I encountered some characters who asked what I was doing. To one man who had volunteered a bit of information about a crumbling old theater, I said that I liked his hat. He said I could get one just like it around the corner, where indeed there is a haberdashery. Then he moseyed along. After he got a couple of hundred feet down Monroe Street, I wondered what the hell I was thinking, so I set off running and asked him to pose for me. “Why would you want a picture of an oldtimer?” he said. I shot four frames and then asked his name. “They call me Pops Oldtimer,” he said. “Thanks for being my friend.”

Popsoldtimer02

One thought on “Pops Oldtimer

Leave a Reply

