William Howard Taft to Henry Bourne Joy

In 1908, Taft was elected the 27th U.S. President

William Howard Taft

Cincinnati, Ohio

Culebra, Canal Zone,

February 6, 1909

My dear Sir:

I received your telegram from Detroit, Mich., sent to me at Charleston, and forwarded to me by wireless on board the U.S.S. North Carolina.

My views with respect to a tariff commission have been published, as also my views with regard to the prompt passing of a tariff bill in accordance with the promise of the Republican platform. I quite realize the necessary halt that the consideration and discussion of any new tariff bill brings about in business. All I can say is that I hope the prompt passage of a satisfactory bill will make the halt in the present instance as short and as little injurious as possible.

Very sincerely yours,


Leave a Reply

