Woe is glee, or how Santa came through with Christmas gifts

In a photo by August McLaughlin, I exchange gifts with Karina Wilson, center, and Diana Weynand, right.
In this photo by August McLaughlin, I exchange gifts with Karina Wilson, center, and Diana Weynand, right.

Even though I live alone and undoubtedly seem pathetic to many people—none of whom, if they agree, I would want to meet, or to see again if we’re already acquainted—my Christmas is abundant and anything but bleak.

Regarding the abundance, here’s the list of items I’ve received from friends, my former wife Susan, and neighbors, gifts coming from Tennessee to Alaska, and next door.

roioliveoil_02

  • A bottle of extra-virgin monocultivar taggiasca olive oil, ordered from Zingerman’s by my friend Andy, the allergy doctor and car guy
  • Votive candles and a chunk of homemade organic Moroccan mint soap along with a card implicating me as being an “awesome” neighbor
  • From different neighbors, an AmbiEscents “wickless fragrance system,” which is a rectangular ceramic lamp (decorated with Parisian motifs) that plugs into the socket in order that the 25-watt bulb will melt cubes of scented wax in a small dish resting atop: a mouth to feed, this one being hungry for scent bars
  • A leather case for eyeglasses, a pair of striped socks, a lotion bar of beeswax, and a Zion National Park-topographical-map bandana, from Susan
  • My friend Teri always sends books and smoked salmon from Alaska, but no salmon this year because the kings didn’t run, so I must settle for City of Thieves, by David Benioff, and Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout
  • A comic novel, Wild Abandon, by Joe Dunthorne, about events at a fading hippie commune in Wales, the volume being obtained in my writers group’s Christmas gift-book exchange from Karina Wilson, who said it was the best book she reviewed this year, or something to that effect

th-1My takeaway from all this could be that I’m regarded as hard and dirty, and my house smells bad.

Of course, the smell could come from the salmon.

Anyway, short of a new motorcycle jacket, of leather, which I’d rather buy for myself, maybe in the spring, and leather pants, too, I couldn’t be more pleased, and I don’t foresee anything going by next week to the Salvation Army dropoff.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Woe is glee, or how Santa came through with Christmas gifts

  1. You got quite a haul! Nice gifts from some good friends.

    On Tue, Dec 25, 2012 at 2:08 PM, Baggy Paragraphs wrote:

    > ** > baggyparagraphs posted: ” In this photo by August McLaughlin, I > exchange gifts with Karina Wilson, center, and Diana Weynand, > right. Even though I live alone and undoubtedly seem pathetic to > many people”

  2. did you get the Starbucks gift card?

    On Tue, Dec 25, 2012 at 2:08 PM, Baggy Paragraphs wrote:

    > ** > baggyparagraphs posted: ” In this photo by August McLaughlin, I > exchange gifts with Karina Wilson, center, and Diana Weynand, > right. Even though I live alone and undoubtedly seem pathetic to > many people”

Leave a Reply

