A man and his truck, in this case a ’59 International B-120 crewcab pickup

IMG_4346Mike Casey was leaning against the bumper of his truck, having a smoke on a sunny Saturday morning.

Approaching him with my camera, I looked at the truck’s stacked headlamps and guessed it was a ’58.

“No, a ‘Fifty-nine.” Mike explained it’s an International Harvester B-120. “They only made it a couple of years.” This one has the rare 3-door crewcab body; the second-generation International Travelall also was a three-door.

He’s owned it since 1990.

Patting the front fender, he said, “I like it because it’s made of steel, not old pop cans.”

IMG_4351

Then he walked me around to the driver’s side, sliding his finger along a crease in the door. “It took a bullet for me in L.A.,” he said, adding that someone thought he might be reporting them for tax evasion.

Mike skedaddled from that scene; he now lives eight miles north of Yucca Valley. Rocky roads lead off to all kinds of old mines.

“It’s my prospecting truck.”

I wasn’t surprised when he said so. He has that prospector look.

Even though Mike also has a Toyota, he drives the International a whole lot because, as he said, he enjoys it.

IMG_4340

It originally had a Diamond-series six-cylinder engine, but he replaced this with a Chevy V-8 and added power steering. (That’s why the steering wheel has a Chevy bow-tie.)

The interior is rather grim, with a big tangle of wires dangling from the bare roof.

I got him to pose for a picture, then gave him my card.

“Thanks, Mike.”

“You got it.”

2 thoughts on “A man and his truck, in this case a ’59 International B-120 crewcab pickup

  1. My Dad was a farmer ,he had a 1947 and a 1954 International, wouldnt have anything else. Also 3 John Deere tractors. He left the grocery store business shortly after WW2 started,hated the ration stamps. So did I as I had to sort them. What do you think of the Volt? My son has his second one,says it has more “stuff” but liked the first one better.

Leave a Reply

